Director
Asha Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
Microfinance Life— Community & knowledge platform
Microfinance Life
Real people. Real work. Shared learning.
Explore Nepal's microfinance institutions, sector developments, research, professional opportunities and practical resources in one place.
Search institutions, people and documentsSearchDirectory snapshot as of 15 May 2026.
The microfinance ecosystem, connected.
Understand the sector. Discover the people. Connect the knowledge.
Explore Nepal's microfinance institutions, sector developments, research, professional opportunities and practical resources in one place.
A knowledge and professional network for Nepal's microfinance ecosystem — connecting institutions, professionals, researchers and development partners.

Knowledge, institutions, people, opportunities
A professional platform for the microfinance ecosystem, built on sourced records and honest coverage notes.
Featured content
Knowledge and research
Curated records from the catalogue. Catalogued documents are not analysed documents.
Featured record
Annual-report-publish-5th-AGM.pdf
48 current financial document record(s) (40 report document(s), 8 rate notice(s), 14 institution(s)); all UNVERIFIED, contents never read.
This record is catalogued. Its contents have not been read or summarised.
Browse all documents →Research & data
Sector indicators and comparisons
NRB-derived metrics, coverage notes and methodology.
Open research →Sector at a glance
The record in numbers
Compact counts from the current snapshot. These are record counts, not current sector-wide totals.
51
Institution records
NRB directory snapshot
1,898
Branch records
Names only; no verified geography
99
Job records
Deadlines mostly not recorded
93
NRB listing records
Reports, KFI, enforcement
48
Financial documents
Catalogued, not analysed
151
People recorded
As published, unverified
Explore the ecosystem
Explore the ecosystem
Six ways into the platform. Each area has its own layout and purpose.
Sector
Institutions and sector intelligence
Licensed MFIs, profiles, capital, leadership, branches and sector records.
Open →Knowledge
Research, reports and data
NRB documents, financial records, metrics and data-quality notes.
Open →Regulation
Regulation and policy
NRB listings, enforcement, circulars and regulatory context.
Open →People
People and professional opportunities
Published leadership, jobs, careers and professional profiles.
Open →Members
Financial literacy and member resources
Borrowing, savings, rights, fraud safety and complaint routes.
Open →Tools
Tools, templates and practical utilities
Calculators, exchange rates, documents and practical resources.
Open →Editor's picks
Curated knowledge
Selected records from the catalogue, organised for discovery.
Financial record
11th-AGM-Minute-FY-7879-Laxmi-Laghubitta-791229.pdf
Catalogued; contents not read.
Financial records →Financial record
2nd-Quarterly-Report-Laxmi-Laghubitta-Unaudited.pdf
Catalogued; contents not read.
Financial records →Latest publications
Recent records
The most recently catalogued financial and regulatory documents.
Annual-report-publish-5th-AGM.pdf
Catalogued; contents not read.
11th-AGM-Minute-FY-7879-Laxmi-Laghubitta-791229.pdf
Catalogued; contents not read.
2nd-Quarterly-Report-Laxmi-Laghubitta-Unaudited.pdf
Catalogued; contents not read.
Catalogued; contents not read.
Collections
Topic collections
Curated entry points into the sector's knowledge. Collections are editorial, not automated.
Regulation & supervision
Circulars, enforcement, KFI and NRB reports
Open collection →Sector data
Loans, deposits, NPL, capital and profitability
Open collection →Institutions
Directory, profiles, leadership and documents
Open collection →Prices & products
Interest rates, fees and remittance
Open collection →Financial awareness
CIB, KYC, fraud, complaints and budgeting
Open collection →Research & analysis
NRB reports, FinDev research and Microfinance Life analysis
Open collection →Organizations
Contributing organizations
A future directory of organizations working in microfinance and financial inclusion in Nepal. Currently, 51 licensed institutions are recorded.
51
Licensed MFIs
Class-D institutions from the NRB directory
—
Development partners
DFIs, NGOs and INGOs (future)
—
Training centres
Professional development providers (future)
—
Research organizations
Universities and research institutes (future)
Organization profiles, submissions and verification are future capabilities. Only licensed institutions from the NRB directory are currently recorded.
Webinars & learning
Knowledge sharing
A future home for webinars, training sessions and professional development.

Coming soon
Webinars and training sessions
A webinar and training directory will be added when verified provider, date and registration information is available. The Jobs page lists current vacancies.
Institutions
Institutions and Nepal's microfinance footprint
51 licensed institutions, ordered by published paid-up capital. Capital is on the books, not assets or deposits.
Largest by published paid-up capital
Top 8| Institution | Head office | Paid-up capital |
|---|---|---|
| Sana Kisan Bikas Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Babarmahal, Kathmandu | Rs 492.72 Cr |
| Chhimek Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Old Baneshwor, Kathmandu | Rs 361.73 Cr |
| Nirdhan Utthan Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Naxal, Kathmandu | Rs 274.27 Cr |
| Deprosc Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Bharatpur, Chitwan | Rs 205.51 Cr |
| Swabalamban Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Kamal Pokhari, Kathmandu | Rs 175 Cr |
| National Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Nilkantha, Dhading | Rs 152.14 Cr |
| Mero Microfinance Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Battar, Nuwakot | Rs 148.64 Cr |
| Nerude Mirmire Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd. | Banepa, Kavrepalanchowk | Rs 139.78 Cr |
Working area as licensed
- National Level
- 40
- Province Level (Lumbini Province)
- 3
- Province Level (Madhesh Province)
- 2
- Province Level (Koshi Province)
- 2
- 19 District Level
- 1
- Bagmati Province + 5 districts
- 1
- Province Level (Bagmati Province)
- 1
- 4-10 District Level
- 1
Combined published paid-up capital across the 35 institutions that disclose it: Rs 3,382.7 crore.
Branch geography
1,898 branch names are recorded. No structured district, address, phone or coordinate field exists; 365 names include a place suffix that has not been parsed or verified.
Browse institutions →People
People behind the sector
151 people across institutions, as published by the institutions. 17 institutions. All records are unverified; role start dates are observation timestamps, not appointment dates.
Chairperson
Asha Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.Director
Asha Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.Featured profiles are selected from the published directory. They are not endorsed or verified by Microfinance Life.
Careers and opportunities
Careers and opportunities
Vacancy records from institution pages. Deadlines are shown only when recorded.
Station Officers
Aarambha Chautari Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
- Location
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Not stated
Province Managers
Chhimek Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
- Location
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Not stated
PDF Application Form for Trainee
Deprosc Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
- Location
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Not stated
PDF Notice Regarding Recruitment of Assistant Trainees
Deprosc Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
- Location
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Not stated
b00e9-0d8fd-vacancy-deprocs-laghubitta-ta-2083-05-05.pdf
Deprosc Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Ltd.
- Location
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Not stated
News & events
Sector updates and events
Keep up with the microfinance community. News and events are sourced, not invented.
Latest updates
Enforcement Action FY 2082-83, Fourth Quarter
22 Sep 2026 · NRB Microfinance Institutions Supervision Department Archive
Interest rate structure as of (2083 Asar) Mid July 2026
22 Sep 2026 · NRB Microfinance Institutions Supervision Department Archive
Key Financial Indicators of Microfinance Institutions as on Asar End 2083
22 Sep 2026 · NRB Key Financial Indicators of Microfinance Institutions
Progress Report of Microfinance Institutions (2083-03-32)
22 Sep 2026 · NRB Microfinance Institutions Supervision Department Archive
Events & training
A training and event directory will be added when verified provider and date information is available. The Jobs page lists current vacancies.
Women & field impact
Women's entrepreneurship and field impact
Gender-lens metrics and field impact stories. All data sourced; stories require consent.

Gender-lens metrics
Women in Nepal's microfinance sector
Gender metrics (women borrowers, leaders, products) will be published when extracted from NRB KFI and MFI reports. All figures will carry source, period and verification state.
- Women borrowers
- Not extracted
- Women leaders
- Not extracted
Metrics are sourced from NRB KFI and MFI reports. None has been extracted yet.
Field impact
Field case studies
Consent-based case studies of women's economic participation, cooperative groups and rural micro-enterprises. None published yet.
Propose a story →Digital literacy
Digital literacy stories
How digital tools have impacted women borrowers. None published yet.
Banking help →SDG alignment
Development goals
Mapping microfinance impact to Sustainable Development Goals. Framework in development.
Global context
Cross-border and regional benchmarks
Positioning Nepal's microfinance in a South Asian context. All figures sourced and dated.
| Indicator | Nepal | Bangladesh | India | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MFI penetration rate | High | Very high | High | World Bank Findex |
| NPL ratio (sector) | 7.2% (Apr 2025) | — | — | NRB / external |
| Interest rate cap | 15% | — | — | NRB |
| Digital adoption | Growing | High | Very high | GSMA / World Bank |
| Financial Inclusion Index | Published 2025 | — | — | NRB |
Comparative data is sourced from World Bank, GSMA, NRB and other public sources. Figures are indicative where data quality differs. Nepal data is source-reported; comparative data is external.
Tools & templates
Operational toolkits for MFI field staff
Practical resources for daily use. Templates are samples; real resources will be added through the editorial pipeline.
Branch operations checklist
Daily, weekly and monthly branch operations checklist.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
Credit appraisal checklist
Loan appraisal documentation and verification checklist.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
Internal audit framework
Audit checklist and compliance verification template.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
IT & cybersecurity guide
Password policy, phishing awareness and data backup procedures.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
HR & training material
Staff onboarding checklist and training plan template.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
Consumer grievance template
Complaint form, escalation matrix and resolution tracking.
Sample content. Real templates coming soon.
EMI calculator
Loan amortization and EMI calculation with visible assumptions.
Available now.
Exchange rate converter
NRB reference rate converter with 14-day history.
Available now.
Sector intelligence
Interactive sector data
Compact metrics from the current snapshot. Charts and time-series will be added as data is parsed.
51
Licensed institutions
NRB directory (May 2026)
1,898
Branch records
Names only; no verified geography
97
NRB documents
Reports, KFI, enforcement
151
People recorded
As published, unverified
48
Financial records
Catalogued, not analysed
99
Vacancies
No deadlines recorded
Coming soon
Interactive charts and time-series
Spatial analytics (branch density by province), temporal analytics (NPL, PAR, ROA trends over quarters), consolidation timeline and rate movement charts will be added as NRB data is parsed and validated. All charts will carry source, period and provisional flags.
Research & data →Digital services
Knowledge and media
Sample content placeholders. Real content will replace these as it becomes available.
Financial literacy explainer
Short explainer on responsible borrowing and interest calculation.
Sample content. Real content will be added through the editorial pipeline.
KYC and CIB guide
Step-by-step guide to KYC processes and CIB checks.
Sample content. Real content will be added through the editorial pipeline.
Fraud awareness
How to identify and avoid digital fraud, OTP scams and phishing.
Sample content. Real content will be added through the editorial pipeline.
Complaint process
How to file a complaint with NRB and MFI grievance channels.
Sample content. Real content will be added through the editorial pipeline.
Learning & community
Learning, community and field experiences
A future home for practical learning, financial literacy, field experiences, interviews and knowledge sharing.
Practical learning
Guides and checklists
Borrowing, savings, rights, fraud safety and complaint routes. Available material is linked where it exists.
Open banking help →Field experiences
Stories from the field
No stories, photos or videos are published until they are verified, consented and sourced.
Propose a contribution →Events and training
Training and events
A training and event directory will be added when verified provider and date information is available.
Career Sathi →Tools and resources
Tools and resources
Practical utilities and sourced documents. No single tool dominates the page.
Documents
Sourced document catalogue
Titles, sources and links. Contents are not read.
Browse documents →Asking the middle layer for the latest NRB reference rates…
Future capability
Your knowledge can contribute to the sector
Professionals, institutions and development organizations will be able to share knowledge, resources, templates and practical experience.

Future platform
- Create a professional presence
- Share knowledge and resources
- Access tools and templates
- Editorial review before publishing
No fake registration, login or upload functionality is provided.
Transparency
How to read this, and what the numbers are
Coverage is uneven, and the interface tries to make that visible rather than smooth it over.
Coverage at a glance
- Institutions
- 51
- With leadership recorded
- 17
- NRB documents
- 93
- Financial documents
- 48
- Vacancies
- 99
- Sources
- 51
Directory snapshot as of 15 May 2026.
How to read this
- Every value has a source
- Records name the page they came from and carry a confidence grade from the publisher, not from us. A field the page did not state shows as missing.
- Unread stays unread
- Most financial and vacancy records here are documents we located but did not read. They are listed so you know the document exists — not so we can quote figures from it.
- Snapshots, not live feeds
- Institution records come from a dated directory snapshot and pages are re-checked on a schedule. Dates are shown because they are the honest limit of the claim.